2017 North Aegean Cup
Home Results Race Documents Entrants List Gallery Contact

Έπεσε η αυλαία στο Κύπελλο Βορείου Αιγαίου 2017


EXTREME WAYS, ELLINIXX, OXYGONON winners of Performance class
KOURSAROS, KRAKEN, EQUINOX winners of Sport class


Protest time Limit for 4/8/2017
ORC Performance: 16:58:44
ORC Sport: 17:10:42


The prize giving and closing ceremony will take place on Friday 4/8/2017 21:00 at Apollo theater, located behind "Clap by the Sea" restaurant.


Protest time Limit for 2/8/2017
ORC Performance: 18:09:55
ORC Sport: 18:48:27


Protest time Limit for 1/8/2017
ORC Sport: 18:32:23
ORC Performance: 18:51:37


Prize giving for individual races will take place in Plaz beach bar at the far end of Kohi beach, after all races are complete, today, Wednesday and Thursday. Plaz beach bar offers discount prices for sailors, so don't miss the fun!


Protest time Limit for 31/7/2017
ORC Sport: 18:44:23
ORC Performance: 19:59:06


The JURY ROOM is located at MELITON hotel lobby, immediately before Crystal restaurant


Announcement #2 - Wine reception

Announcement #2


Announcement #1 - Skipper's meeting

Announcement #1


North Aegean Cup 2017 Sailing Instructions

Sailing Instructions


Interview - Loretta Konstantinidou


North Aegean Cup 2017 Notice of Race

Notice of Race


Event Announcement

The Nautical Club of Thessaloniki announces the International regatta "North Aegean Cup 2017" from Saturday July 29th to Friday August 4th 2017, for boats with ORC International, ORC Club and IRC rating certificates.

Races will be held in the Toroneos Gulf. The start of the competition and the skippers’ meeting will be held at Porto Carras in Halkidiki, which is also the headquarters of the event. Participating boats will be moored in the marina of Porto Carras. Races will include inshore races (upwind - downwind, triangle) and races along the coast of the Toroneos Gulf.

The Nautical Club of Thessaloniki brought offshore sailing to the waters of the North Aegean Sea.

In 1978, a time when race sailing and even simple preoccupation with the open sea was still at an early stage, NOTh launched the first international races for offshore vessels in its own seas. That first year the races unfortunately did not take place because of the earthquakes in Thessaloniki, but began dynamically the following year based on Skopelos Island. The elite of Greek sailors, who had participated in numerous international competitions, and well-known names in offshore and ocean sailing, sailed the North Aegean Sea.

"This is the best-organized sailing competition I have ever taken part in", said Dutch sailor Bruynzeel in 1979 in Skopelos thereby encouring the organizing committee. Bruynzeel was the inventor of marine plywood and a former winner of the famous Sydney-Hobart race.

The 1981 and 1982 the races were held in Porto Carras, Halkidiki before returning to Skopelos for a while and when in 1985 the event settled permanently in Porto Carras, where Captain John Karras awarded the first annual trophy.

At the same time, in line with major international events, the races became much more technical. Thus, the program of the racing week, in addition to offshore routes, includes technical inshore races such as Olympic triangles, trapeze and windward-leeward. The Nautical Club of Thessaloniki is probably the first one in Greece, to establish this type of racing program.

In the following years, crews from Greece, England, Israel, Cyprus, Russia, Turkey and Bulgaria participated in races plowing the waters of the North Aegean Sea in true racing spirit. Peter Goulandris, John Alafouzos, Theo Angelopoulos, Nikos Perakis, Charles Kiosseoglou, Stelios Bonas, Nikos Lykiardopoulos, Tasos Bountouris, John Giapalakis, George Ertsos, George Andreadis, Notis Batsis, Dimitris Fessas and so many other worhty Greek and foreign sailors loved the North Aegean Sea and the special atmosphere of these races.

After about a decade, the Nautical Club of Thessaloniki returned in 2013 to revive the Northern Aegean Cup while simultaneously organizing the National Offshore Championship in collaboration with the Offshore Commission ORC. The successful event was honored by the participation of 36 boats from all over Greece.


Prize Giving Ceremony

Video Gallery

Interview - Loretta Konstantinidou
North Aegean Cup 2015 - Trapezium race
North Aegean Cup 2015 - 4th day Inshore race
North Aegean Cup 2015 - 5th day
North Aegean Cup 2015 - 4th day
North Aegean Cup 2015 - 3rd day
North Aegean Cup 2015 - 2nd day
North Aegean Cup 2015 - 1st day
North Aegean Cup 2015 - Start
North Aegean Cup 2014 - 5th day
North Aegean Cup 2014 - 4th day
North Aegean Cup 2014 - 3rd day
North Aegean Cup 2014 - 2nd day
North Aegean Cup 2014 - 1st day
North Aegean Cup 2013 - the video
North Aegean Cup 2013 - final day
North Aegean Cup 2013 - 3rd day
North Aegean Cup 2013 - 2nd day
Presentation of the National Offshore Sailing Championship 2013
2012 National Championship
North Aegean Cup 1996